All dietary enquiries need to be addressed directly with the takeaway so that they can make sure your food order fits your criteria. We understand that certain food ingredients may not be best suited to everyone, so please ensure that you make the takeaway aware of your dietary restrictions.
The takeaway may have halal sign on the website if they serve halal meat. They sometimes may choose not to put up a sign. We request you to contact the Takeaway before placing the order.
You can also contact the Live Chat services between 11:30 - 23:00 hours and one of our available agents will help find this information out for you.